Anglia Ruskin University 2017 Calendar

Anglia Ruskin University 2017 Calendar

Anglia Ruskin University’s Academic Calendar contains information on all the key dates you need for the academic year, including teaching weeks, examination periods and vacations for all taught provision. Calendars are published on this page for academic years:

The academic year is split in to the main arrivals weekend, Welcome Week, teaching weeks, exam periods and vacations.

Our courses are taught on a semester or trimester basis so you’ll need to check which calendar your child will be following. If there are any variations to these dates, they’ll be published in the course handbook.

We expect students to attend all their classes and will contact those who don’t attend regularly. We know students may have to work while at university, but they need to make sure working doesn’t adversely affect their studies. We also expect students not to book holidays during teaching and assessment periods.

Please note: the calendar information provided on this page is for delivery of courses at Anglia Ruskin’s main campuses in Cambridge, Chelmsford, Peterborough (Guild House), London, our Associate Colleges throughout the UK (except Arden University and Globe Education Services). Teaching dates and examination periods for our overseas Associate Colleges broadly match those used in the UK but small local variations have been agreed on occasion to accommodate, for example, different public holidays in different jurisdictions. Exact details are provided to students in their Student Handbooks

Key Dates for the 2016/17 Academic Year (Semesters)
Start of Academic Year
Monday 19th September 2016
Semester 1 Teaching
Monday 26th September – Friday 16th December 2016
Semester 1 Examinations
Wednesday 4th January – Tuesday 10th January 2017
Semester 1 (Re)sit Examinations
Monday 31st July – Friday 11th August 2017
Semester 2 Teaching
Monday 30th January – Friday 5th May 2017
Semester 2 Examinations
Monday 15th May – Friday 26th May 2017
Semester 2 (Re)sit Examinations

Monday 31st July – Friday 11th August 2017

Christmas Vacation
Monday 19th December 2016 – Monday 2nd January 2017 (inclusive)
Easter Vacation
Monday 10th April – Friday 21st April 2017 (inclusive)
End of (semester) Academic Year
Friday 23rd June 2017
Key Dates for the 2016/17 Academic Year (Trimesters)
Start of Academic Year
Monday 19th September 2016
Trimester 1 Teaching
Monday 26th September – Friday 16th December 2016
Trimester 1 Examinations
Wednesday 4th January – Tuesday 10th January 2017
Trimester 1 (Re)sit Examinations
Monday 31st July – Friday 11th August 2017
Trimester 2 Teaching
Monday 30th January – Friday 5th May 2017
Trimester 2 Examinations
Monday 15th May – Friday 26th May 2017
Trimester 2 (Re)sit Examinations

Monday 31st July – Friday 11th August 2017

Trimester 3 Teaching
Monday 29th May – Friday 4th August 2017
Trimester 3 Examinations
Monday 7th August – Friday 11th August 2017
Trimester 3 (Re)sit Examinations
Wednesday 3rd January – Tuesday 9th January 2018
Christmas Vacation
Monday 19th December 2016 – Monday 2nd January 2017 (inclusive)
Easter Vacation
Monday 10th April – Friday 21st April 2017 (inclusive)
End of (trimester) Academic Year
Friday 8th September 2017

Key Dates for the 2017/18 Academic Year (Semesters)
Start of Academic Year (Semesters)
Monday 18th September 2017
Semester 1 Teaching
Monday 25th September – Friday 15th December 2017
Semester 1 Examinations
Wednesday 3rd January – Tuesday 9th January 2018
Semester 1 (Re)sit Examinations
Monday 30th July – Friday 10th August 2018
Semester 2 Teaching
Monday 29th January – Friday 4th May 2018
Semester 2 Examinations
Monday 14th May – Friday 25th May 2018
Semester 2 (Re)sit Examinations

Monday 30th July – Friday 10th August 2018

Christmas Vacation
Monday 18th December 2017 – Monday 1st January 2018 (inclusive)
Easter Vacation
Monday 26th March – Friday 6th April 2018 (inclusive)
End of (semester) Academic Year
Friday 22nd June 2018

Key Dates for the 2017/18 Academic Year (Trimesters)
Start of Academic Year (Trimesters)
Monday 18th September 2017
Trimester 1 Teaching
Monday 25th September – Friday 15th December 2017
Trimester 1 Examinations
Wednesday 3rd January – Tuesday 9th January 2018
Trimester 1 (Re)sit Examinations
Monday 30th July – Friday 10th August 2018
Trimester 2 Teaching
Monday 29th January – Friday 4th May 2018
Trimester 2 Examinations
Monday 14th May – Friday 25th May 2018
Trimester 2 (Re)sit Examinations

Monday 30th July – Friday 10th August 2018

Trimester 3 Teaching
Monday 29th May – Friday 4th August 2017
Trimester 3 Examinations
Monday 7th August – Friday 11th August 2017
Trimester 3 (Re)sit Examinations
Wednesday 3rd January – Tuesday 9th January 2018
Christmas Vacation
Monday 18th December 2017 – Monday 1st January 2018 (inclusive)
Easter Vacation
Monday 26th March – Friday 6th April 2018 (inclusive)
End of (trimester) Academic Year
Friday 7th September 2018