Aberystwyth University Unconditional Offer

Aberystwyth University

Aberystwyth University Unconditional Offer

The Entrance Scholarship competition involves sitting two exams on Tuesday, 30th January 2018 – one in the morning, and the other in the afternoon.  The exams last for one and a half hours each and we have 38 subjects for you to choose from.  Unfortunately it is not possible to take the exams on any other day.

Scholarships are worth £1,000 to £2,000 a year. All scholars are given an unconditional offer of a place at the University, and a guarantee of a place to live in a University residence throughout their time as an undergraduate student.

It’s possible to get one of four types of award from sitting the Entrance Scholarship exams:

1.       Institute Entrance Scholarships – £2,000 a year

We have 20 Institute Scholarships available, which are worth £2,000 a year, as well as an unconditional offer to study at the University, and guaranteed accommodation in a University property throughout the length of the course*.  Institutes decide upon the allocation of the Institute Entrance Scholarships based on excellent performance in the exams.

2.       Entrance Scholarships – £1,000 a year

We have approximately 50 Entrance Scholarships to award to the candidates scoring the highest aggregate marks of both examination papers (who are not offered an Institute Entrance Scholarship).  Entrance Scholarship holders receive £1,000 for each year of their course and also get an unconditional offer and guaranteed accommodation in a University property throughout the length of their course*.

3.       Merit Awards – £1,000 in the first year

We offer approximately 250 Merit Awards each year to students who do well in the competition but narrowly miss out on attaining a Scholarship.  As well as the £1,000 during the first year of the course, Merit Award holders also get an unconditional offer.

4.       Unconditional offers

Some candidates who do not receive a Scholarship or Merit Award will be offered an unconditional offer on the basis of their performance in the Entrance Scholarship competition.