Aberystwyth University 2017 Exam Timetable

Aberystwyth University

Aberystwyth University 2017 Exam Timetable

Dates of Term should be read in conjunction with the University’s residency requirements for full-time students as set out in section 3.1 of Student Rules and Regulation.

Formal, timetabled classes will not take place during vacation periods, but fieldwork, work experience placements and other activities may do.

Session 2017/2018

Event

Date

Michaelmas Term (1)Monday 25/09/2017 – Saturday 16/12/2017 (12 weeks)
Orientation Week/Induction/RegistrationMonday 25/09/2017 – Friday 29/09/2017 (1 week)
Semester 1 TeachingMonday 02/10/2017 – Saturday 16/12/2017 (11 weeks)
Christmas VacationMonday 18/12/2017 – Saturday 06/01/2018 (3 weeks)
Vacation period for full-time undergraduate and postgraduate taught students, and for students on the International Foundation Programme.
Lent Term (2)Monday 08/01/2018 – Saturday 24/03/2018 (11 weeks)
Semester 1 ExaminationsWednesday 10/01/2018 – Tuesday 23/01/2018 (2 weeks)
Induction/Preparation for Semester 2Wednesday 24/01/2018 – Saturday 27/01/2018 (4 days)
Semester 2 TeachingMonday 29/01/2018 – Saturday 24/03/2018 (8 weeks)
Easter VacationMonday 26/03/2018 – Saturday 14/04/2018 (3 weeks)
Vacation period for full-time undergraduate and postgraduate taught students, and for students on the International Foundation Programme.
Easter Term  (3)Monday 16/04/2018 – Saturday 02/06/2018 (7 weeks)
Semester 2 teachingMonday 16/04/2018 – Saturday 05/05/2018 (3 weeks)
Reading/Revision WeekMonday 07/05/2018 – Saturday 12/05/2018 (1 week)
Semester 2 ExaminationsMonday 14/05/2018 – Saturday 02/06/2018 (3 weeks)

Supplementary Examinations

20 August – 30 August 2018

 

The period from Monday 04/06/2018 to the beginning of the 2018-19 Session is a vacation period for full-time undergraduate students and for students on the International Foundation Programme. Students should however ensure that they are available to take resit exams in Aberystwyth during the August supplementary examination period. Note that full-time postgraduate taught students will continue to pursue their studies during this period.

Full-time postgraduate research students are required to be resident in Aberystwyth for 44 weeks a year, with the remaining 8 weeks to be taken as conditional leave. The timing of postgraduate research leave will be determined in discussion between student and supervisor, but does not need to coincide with the University vacation periods which are published in the dates of term.